Committee for Spatial Information - General Information​

At the CSI meeting held 06 July 2016 one of the first tasks of the newly appointed Committee was to determine the subcommittees required to support the Committee in terms of section 10(a) of the SDI Act. After some deliberation it was decided to maintain the composition of current subcommittees in the interests of continuity which will allow the work of the CSI to get back on track more speedily. The process for appointing members of subcommittees is outlined in the draft SDI Regulations. Once the Regulations are approved by the Minster, the committees will be officially constituted by a call for nominations. In or-der not to prolong the process of getting off to a start, it was decided to continue with the committees and members appointed in the previous term, as an interim measure. Members of the new Committee, that were not previously members of any subcommittee, were given the opportunity to indicate which subcommittee(s) they would like to be members of.

This serves to strengthen their commitment to the tasks of the Committee. Chairpersons for the interim subcommittees were appointed as follows:


​Policy & Legislation​Morena Letsosa
​Standards​Bulelwa Semoli
​Data​Nicolene Fourie
​Education and Training​Lindy-Anne Siebritz 
​Systems​Mfanafuthi Gama
​Marketing and Communication​Nondwe Monyake


The subcommittees are the active component of the CSI and play an important role in paving the way forward. Subcommittees will now be called upon to reconvene to reaffirm their Terms of Reference and member patronage, as well as to compile a Programme of Action. If you have specialist skills in any of the above domains and would like to make a difference by committing your active participation in any of the above subcommittees